Skip to content

Who got that Flyer…?

January 27, 2010

“WHO GOT THAT FIRE?…….WE GOT THAT FIRE……I AIN’T EVEN GOIN’ LIE I GOT THAT HOLY GHOST FIRE…..” And so on and so on. It’s a chant that has been in the UTC’s for a number of years. If you’re not familiar with it, I hope soon you do. When I first heard the chant I remembered the song from a rapper I had heard it from years ago by the name of Mike Shelton. He sang this song with a ‘passion for souls.’ The song with a catchy hook became the UTC catchy chant. Just about everywhere the UTC goes (evangelism, churches, discipleships, presentations, etc.) you’re gonna hear someone ask the question “WHO GOT THAT FIRE?” It’s not so much a direct question as it is a persuasive effect looking for some confirmation of the power of God in someone else.

Omar from East LA & Mikey from Modesto

The other day we had an opportunity to evangelize the streets of Wilmington, a drug and gang-infested neighborhood near Victory Outreach Torrance.  As we had a dynamic street rally taking place right in front a hotel where pimps & prostitutes resided, I began to reflect on all the street rallies I’ve been able to be apart of throughout the years of ministry. Street Rallies ranging from 2 people to 2,000 people. Cities spreading from New York to New Mexico and all over the United States. Countries from Curacao to Indonesia (which by the way, Indonesia doesn’t take to kindly of “hitting the streets.” Trust me.) I’ve been involved in crusades where we passed out 5,000 flyers & even 750,000 flyers. These world-wide inner-city focused crusades have been so powerful, I’ve seen people give up their guns, rags, and drugs right on the spot. The power of God has been so awesome that we literally flip someone’s world upside down.

PS3 when he was 1 yrs old in a stroller w flyers

I don’t think I can count the amount of crusades with flyers that have been passed out. The first time I remember passing out a flyer was around the age of 5 or 6 and my father asking me, “Do you want ice cream?” I mean c’mon. What kid would say no to ice cream? Especially with their mother not around. “Yes.” I replied. Then my father would say, “Then go and give that man a flyer and we’ll go after.” Preaching the gospel and passing out flyers has been engraved in my character since I was young.

Now over the years I’ve developed my own little “Barna Research ‘Publication’ Institute”, in other words the “Hood Institute of Promotionalism.” I just made that up by the way. It’s not real. But anyways, as I’ve passed out flyers I have seen many souls get saved from a simple 4 x 6 piece of paper. Some papers smaller, some larger. Many with great promotional technique and others…..well……let’s just say I think even the flyer needed Jesus. But to see how a small piece of paper makes a large difference in a person’s life. Now, what’s the purpose of that flyer? There are many:

  • To notify someone of an upcoming date, event, or site
  • A reminder about a date, event, or site
  • An encouragement through a visual to attend a date or event

There are so many purposes for a simple piece of paper we call a flyer. But what I love more than anything is hearing the testimonies of men & women who share about how they came to church through someone handing them a flyer. I’ve even heard of people who came to church through finding a flyer on the floor and it just intrigued them enough to pick it up and attend the event. You never know who’s eyes are going to catch a simple piece of paper and be captivated enough to actually change their plans and attend a strange, out-of-the-norm event. After all, the eyes are the window to the soul (Matt. 6:22, 23).

Even after all the flyers are passed out for whatever event or occasion that is needed, we have coined a phrase that says “YOU ARE THE FLYER.” That’s right. The paper may run out, but the information that is needed to be shared will never run out……..if it’s in you. This reminds me of one of my favorite scriptures. Psalms 119:11 “I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.” This doesn’t mean ‘hide’ as in the ‘hide-n-seek’ game. But ‘hide’ as in ‘put it somewhere in your heart and when something or someone tries to deface your character or principles, you bring it out from its hidden place.’ Always have that flyer with you. Whether it’s in your pocket or in your heart. “Who got that flyer?”

Victory Outreach 1976 Flyer

3 Comments leave one →
  1. pdrobbers permalink
    January 27, 2010 2:59 am

    Good stuff PSP! Reminds me of our ‘Stroller Evangelism’, in the UTC. Walking next to the flatbed truck w/ little Jay passing out flyers, and letting people know about J. E. S. US!!!

  2. johnny permalink
    January 27, 2010 4:52 am

    awesome blog.true story. ecutc 08-09

  3. January 28, 2010 3:11 pm

    Great blog for the new year Pastor! This is a good reminder of what God has called us to do and never lose in VO! Keep ’em coming…still following the trends that you’re setting in the UTC!

Leave a Reply

